top of page


Turning Interest Into Action

Any residential or business property owner within the district is invited to be a part of the Piqua-Caldwell Historic District Association (PCHDA) that was established in 2018. The organization

became a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation in 2019, and is governed by elected executive officers. The executive committee meets a minimum of four times per year (quarterly) and hosts their public annual meeting at the Fort Piqua Plaza Building in October. PCHDA provides events throughout the year to engage the community and promote awareness of Piqua‘s rich history. They also hold fundraisers generating funds that are earmarked for historic markers and operating expenses.


Another important goal of the PCHDA is to partner with the City of Piqua to:


1. Promote awareness of the history and vast variety of architecture within the district creating a tourist destination.

2. Place historic street signage to designate the area, supplementing the cast aluminum historic markers placed by PCHDA displaying original owner and date established information found

at many residential sites.

3. Work together to support and encourage continued restoration of properties within the historic district.

On January 11, 1985, the Piqua-Caldwell Historic District (PCHD) was registered with the National Register of Historic Places. Located in Piqua, Ohio, the area includes N Main, Wayne, N Downing, Caldwell Streets; and W. Ash to Camp Streets.


Architectural classifications include:

Federal; Greek Revival; Victorian; Queen Anne; Italianate; Georgian Revival; Gothic; Romanesque; Second Empire; Prairie; Jacobethan Revival; Neo-Classical Revival; Richardson Romanesque; Second Renaissance Revival; American Four Square; and English Tudor Revival.


The National Historic Places Register

Reference Number is 85000069.

2022-2024 Executive Officers

President, Don Smith

Vice President, Lotte Welbaum

Treasurer, Lori Hedberg

Secretary, Laura Schwein

Fundraising Chair, Melanie Walker

Marketing Chair, Chuck Black

Corresponding Secretary, Sue Smith

bottom of page